Shanghai Expat Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Alberto

A good financial advisor in Shanghai ?

Question

Does anyone know any good fee based financial advisors in shanghai? (Not those guys that call and drive me crazy!) I'd never trust them with my money -- they can't even tell me where they got my phone number.

10 answers to this question

I've never heard of a fee based financial advisor in Shanghai. Certainly would be scope for one but financial advisors have gained such a bad name from the commission based salesmen that cold call everyone.

I have been using one for last 7 years for some part of my portfolio (offshore funds on developing markets, hedgefunds, gold etc.). 

If you would be interested in ok advisor, you could pm me. I could ask him to contact you directly.  Fee based he is not.

Yes for me it's more about the specific adviser rather than the company he works for. I have a guy who has looked after me well so I move with him if he moves company.

Questions I have to ask any person giving me investment advice - have they made more money that me with their investments? Why is this person, company.. qualified to do more than recommend the products they are selling? The web is filled with people giving advice and that have actually made money. It just takes doing some homework.

Just now, JohnLaw said:

Questions I have to ask any person giving me investment advice - have they made more money that me with their investments? Why is this person, company.. qualified to do more than recommend the products they are selling? The web is filled with people giving advice and that have actually made money. It just takes doing some homework.

I would have to disagree. web is filled with a lot of garbage. And those ideas that are not garbage - one time deals, where someone had a lucky guess on which stock to buy.

A good fund with will put your money into a strategy that will continuously beat averages (like DJIA or SP500).